Allegany
County
Maryland
Digital Cultural Heritage 
The purpose of the Maryland Digital Cultural
Heritage Project is two-fold. First, the MDCH Project is a
collaborative effort to digitize Maryland-related historical documents,
images, audio, and video for Maryland's public libraries and cultural
heritage institutions. Second, the MDCH Project website
provides centralized, one-stop access to these culturally significant
items that will benefit the patrons and staff of the libraries and
cultural heritage institutions, as well as future generations, by
promoting research, education, and tourism.
Sanborn
Maps, 1867-1970
Navigation Guide Map Legend
Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 provides access to
more than 660,000 large-scale maps for more than 12,000 American towns
and cities. Sanborn fire insurance maps are the most
frequently consulted maps in libraries, and are valuable historical
tools. In electronic form, Sanborn maps allow users to easily
manipulate the maps, magnify and zoom in on specific sections, and
layer maps from different years.
Whilbr

Allegany, Garrett, and Washington Counties in
Western Maryland have a rich and diverse history. View images
from the collections of the libraries, historical societies, and
individuals in the three counties. There are photographs,
newspaper articles, and indexes, rare books and more.
Back To Top
Antiques and
Collectibles
Ask
Us Now 
Maryland AskUsNow! is a
24/7 live online
interactive service for the residents and students of the state of
Maryland. It uses the expertise of trained librarians to provide
answers to questions, research guidance, and help navigating the
Internet. The librarian should be able to take you to various websites
and will communicate with you using Internet chat. A normal session
lasts no longer than 15-20 minutes. The librarian may offer to
follow-up by e-mail if your question cannot be answered online in this
timeframe.
EBSCO
Masterfile Premiere
Tutorial
MasterFILE Premier provides full text for more than
1,900 general reference, business, consumer health, general science,
and multi-cultural magazines.
Fashion, Costume and
Culture provides a broad
overview of costume traditions of diverse cultures from prehistoric
times to the present day. It also explores how and why items
were created, the people who made them, and their uses, and shows how
clothing, headwear, body decorations and footwear reflect the different
cultural, religious, and societal beliefs.
p4A
Antiques Reference
Search Tips
The p4A Antiques Reference database is used by most
leading personal property appraisers throughout the United States,
antiques dealers, museums, and agencies like the Internal Revenue
Service to evaluate almost every kind of antique in today's collections.
Back
To Top
Ask
Us Now

Maryland AskUsNow! is a
24/7 live online
interactive service for the residents and students of the state of
Maryland. It uses the expertise of trained librarians to provide
answers to questions, research guidance, and help navigating the
Internet. The librarian should be able to take you to various websites
and will communicate with you using Internet chat. A normal session
lasts no longer than 15-20 minutes. The librarian may offer to
follow-up by e-mail if your question cannot be answered online in this
timeframe.
Search for people based
on one or more personal fact such as birth and death year, nationality,
ethnicity, occupation or gender, or combine criteria to create a
highly-targeted custom search
Credo Reference: Start
Your Research Here
Tour
Credo
Reference is a digital reference library that places a world of factual
information at your fingertips. Containing a selection from 240
high-quality reference books from the world's leading publishers, Credo
Reference is the ideal place to start any research. Offering
access to over 1.7 million individual entries, Credo Reference contains
all the types of reference books that you'd want to see in any quality
library: dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, and books of
quotations, not to mention a host of subject-specific titles covering
everything from the arts to accountancy and law to literature. And
because all our books are provided by the best reference publishers,
you know you can believe what you read.
MasterFILE Premier
provides full text for more than
1,900 general reference, business, consumer health, general science,
and multi-cultural magazines.
This reference set lists
and describes more than
1,500 global cultures. Based on research of social
scientists, it is the source for historical, social, political,
economic, linguistic, religious, and other information on virtually
every existing culture.
Access biographies,
bibliographies, and critical analyses of more than 120,000 authors from
every age and literary discipline.
Poem Finder is the largest, most comprehensive and
most current poetry database available. Story Finder provides
thousands of full-text short stories plus explanations, biographies,
pictures and more. Essay Finder is a unique database of
full-text essays and discursive writing based on books published in the
20th century which have been analyzed in standard library indexes.
Middle Search Plus
provides full text from over 140
general reference, health and science magazines.
Novelist
Navigation Guide
Search Tips
Training Center
In addition to locating
books to read, users can
learn more about books and authors through Feature Articles, Book
Discussion Guides, and BookTalks.
NoveList
K-8
allows you to discover the fiction titles that are popular with young
readers as well as titles to use in your classroom.
p4A
Antiques Reference
Search Tips
The p4A Antiques
Reference database is used by most
leading personal property appraisers throughout the United States,
antiques dealers, museums, and agencies like the Internal Revenue
Service to evaluate almost every kind of antique in today's collections.
Primary
Search
Tutorial
Primary Search provides
full text from 50
children’s magazines appropriate for elementary schools and
children’s reading rooms.
Searchasaurus
Tutorial
Reference materials
within Searchasaurus include
magazines, encyclopedias, newspapers, books and more.
U*X*L
American Decades
Tutorial
Navigation
Guide Search
Tips
Covers 20th-century
events and social history
beginning in 1900 and ending in 1999. Each decade is covered,
with a chronology of world events and a general overview of the
decade. Within each topic, alphabetically arranged entries
discuss historically important events, issues, definitions of difficult
concepts or terms, and other interesting trivia and sideline stories.
Back
To Top
Auto Repair
Ask
Us Now 
Maryland AskUsNow! is a 24/7 live online
interactive service for the residents and students of the state of
Maryland. It uses the expertise of trained librarians to provide
answers to questions, research guidance, and help navigating the
Internet. The librarian should be able to take you to various websites
and will communicate with you using Internet chat. A normal session
lasts no longer than 15-20 minutes. The librarian may offer to
follow-up by e-mail if your question cannot be answered online in this
timeframe.
Auto
Repair Reference Center
Tutorial
Auto
Repair Reference Center contains information on most major
manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles, with repair
information for most vintage makes starting as far back as 1954.
Back To Top
African
American Almanac
Tutorial
Navigation
Guide Search
Tips
The African American Almanac provides historical
and current information on African American history, society, and
culture. It includes a chronology, primary documents,
directories of organizations and businesses, a bibliography of
recently-published works, annotated lists of crucial court cases, a
filmography, and hundreds of brief biographies, photographs, maps, and
statistical charts.
This respected resource is a biographical
dictionary of the significant players in physical, biological, and
related sciences. Each edition includes biographical entries
on approximately 120,000 living scientists.
The Ancestry Library Edition collection has
approximately 4,000 databases including key collections such as U.S.
Federal Census images and indexes from 1790 to 1930; the Map Center
containing more than 1,000 historical maps, American Genealogical
Biographical Index (over 200 volumes); Daughters of the American
Revolution Lineage (over 150 volumes); The Great Migration Begins:
Immigrants to New England, 1620-1630; Social Security Death Index
(updated monthly); WWI Draft Registration Cards; Federal Slave
Narratives; and a strong Civil War Collection.
Maryland AskUsNow! is a 24/7 live online
interactive service for the residents and students of the state of
Maryland. It uses the expertise of trained librarians to provide
answers to questions, research guidance, and help navigating the
Internet. The librarian should be able to take you to various websites
and will communicate with you using Internet chat. A normal session
lasts no longer than 15-20 minutes. The librarian may offer to
follow-up by e-mail if your question cannot be answered online in this
timeframe.
Search
for people based
on one or more personal fact such as birth and death year, nationality,
ethnicity, occupation or gender, or combine criteria to create a
highly-targeted custom search.
The Career Information Center provides information
every job seeker should have. Updated with a full volume devoted to
computer careers, the first 12 volumes each focus on a different career
area, and contain over 700 job profiles. Each profile includes a job
summary chart, a job description, and up-to-date salary information.
The 13th volume contains the index, as well as essays on different
aspects of employment.
The Colonial America Reference Library provides
students with the comprehensive information on the Colonial American
period they need to write reports and class assignments including
biographical profiles and primary source documents.
Credo
Reference is a digital reference library that places a world of factual
information at your fingertips. Containing a selection from 240
high-quality reference books from the world's leading publishers, Credo
Reference is the ideal place to start any research. Offering
access to over 1.7 million individual entries, Credo Reference contains
all the types of reference books that you'd want to see in any quality
library: dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, and books of
quotations, not to mention a host of subject-specific titles covering
everything from the arts to accountancy and law to literature. And
because all our books are provided by the best reference publishers,
you know you can believe what you read.
MasterFILE Premier provides full text for more than
1,900 general reference, business, consumer health, general science,
and multi-cultural magazines.
The Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol, and Addictive
Behavior specifically addresses the new frontiers that have opened in
the area of addictive studies, exploring not only the biological basis
for addiction, but also recent enhancements in diagnosis and treatment.
This six-volume edition of the 1987 Dartmouth
Medal-winner includes all of the material from the original four-volume
set and 1992 Supplement, as well as updated original articles and new
articles covering concepts and court cases since 1992. Appendices
include a case index and primary documents.
Fashion, Costume and Culture provides a broad
overview of costume traditions of diverse cultures from prehistoric
times to the present day. It also explores how and why items
were created, the people who made them, and their uses, and shows how
clothing, headwear, body decorations and footwear reflect the different
cultural, religious, and societal beliefs.
For students and adults alike, the Funk &
Wagnall's New Encyclopedia database indexes over 25,000 records.
Access biographies,
bibliographies, and critical analyses of more than 120,000 authors from
every age and literary discipline.
Litfinder
Search
Tips
Poem Finder is the largest, most comprehensive and
most current poetry database available. Story Finder provides
thousands of full-text short stories plus explanations, biographies,
pictures and more. Essay Finder is a unique database of
full-text essays and discursive writing based on books published in the
20th century which have been analyzed in standard library indexes.
Middle
Search Plus
Tutorial
Middle Search Plus provides full text from over 140
general reference, health and science magazines.
Novelist
Navigation Guide
Search Tips
Training Center
In addition to locating books to read, users can
learn more about books and authors through Feature Articles, Book
Discussion Guides, and BookTalks.
Novelist
K-8
Navigation
Guide
Search Tips Training
Center
NoveList K-8
allows you to discover the fiction titles that are popular with young
readers as well as titles to use in your classroom.
Primary
Search
Tutorial
Primary Search provides full text from 50
children’s magazines appropriate for elementary schools and
children’s reading rooms.
Searchasaurus
Tutorial
Reference materials within Searchasaurus include
magazines, encyclopedias, newspapers, books and more.
U*X*L
American Decades
Tutorial
Navigation
Guide Search
Tips
Covers
20th-century events and social history
beginning in 1900 and ending in 1999. Each decade is covered,
with a chronology of world events and a general overview of the
decade. Within each topic, alphabetically arranged entries
discuss historically important events, issues, definitions of difficult
concepts or terms, and other interesting trivia and sideline stories.
This fascinating and informative source covers the
history of witchcraft in the United States from the hysteria that
facilitated the witch hunts during the Colonial Period to modern day
followers of Wicca. Chapters include full text or excerpts
from trial transcripts, diary entries, public notices, and many other
primary sources. Biographical essays highlight prominent
figures related to the Salem witch trials.
World
Book Online Reference Center
Tutorial
Quick
Start Guide
Continually updated, World Book Online Reference
Center is a student's best source for accurate and accessible
information. This comprehensive site includes all of the articles from
the 22-volume print set, plus thousands more. In addition, there are
more than 9,500 pictures and maps, 115 videos and animations, 9,300
sounds, more than 100 simulated historic Web sites.
Back To Top
Business,
Investing, and Economics
Ask
Us Now 
Maryland AskUsNow! is a 24/7 live online
interactive service for the residents and students of the state of
Maryland. It uses the expertise of trained librarians to provide
answers to questions, research guidance, and help navigating the
Internet. The librarian should be able to take you to various websites
and will communicate with you using Internet chat. A normal session
lasts no longer than 15-20 minutes. The librarian may offer to
follow-up by e-mail if your question cannot be answered online in this
timeframe.
Business
Source Elite
Tutorial
Business Source Elite provides full text from over
1,090 journals covering business, management, economics, banking,
finance, accounting and much more.
Career
Information Center
Tutorial
Navigation
Guide Search
Tips
The Career Information Center provides information
every job seeker should have. Updated with a full volume devoted to
computer careers, the first 12 volumes each focus on a different career
area, and contain over 700 job profiles. Each profile includes a job
summary chart, a job description, and up-to-date salary information.
The 13th volume contains the index, as well as essays on different
aspects of employment.
Credo Reference: Start
Your Research Here
Tour
Credo
Reference is a digital reference library that places a world of factual
information at your fingertips. Containing a selection from 240
high-quality reference books from the world's leading publishers, Credo
Reference is the ideal place to start any research. Offering
access to over 1.7 million individual entries, Credo Reference contains
all the types of reference books that you'd want to see in any quality
library: dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, and books of
quotations, not to mention a host of subject-specific titles covering
everything from the arts to accountancy and law to literature. And
because all our books are provided by the best reference publishers,
you know you can believe what you read.
EBSCO
Masterfile Premiere
Tutorial
MasterFILE Premier provides full text for more than
1,900 general reference, business, consumer health, general science,
and multi-cultural magazines.
With over 300 articles, the Encyclopedia of Career
Development is the premier reference tool for research on
career-related topics. Covering a broad range of themes, the
contributions represent original material written by
internationally-renowned scholars that view career development from a
number of different dimensions. This multidisciplinary resource
examines career-related issues from psychological, sociological,
educational, counseling, organizational behavior, and human resource
management perspectives.
Designed to provide entrepreneurs with how-to
information that they can apply to their own business. Contains 600
detailed articles and overviews of all the key information needs of
small business owners, including financing, financial planning,
business plan creation, market analysis, sales strategy, tax planning,
and human resource issues.
History
Reference Center
Tutorial
History Reference Center is
the world's most comprehensive full text history reference database,
featuring full text for more than 2,000 reference books, encyclopedias
and non-fiction books from leading history publishers and more than 120
leading history periodicals. The database contains more than
59,600 historical documents; more than 49,600 biographies of historical
figures; more than 110,200 historical photos and maps; and more than 80
hours of historical video.
Middle
Search Plus
Tutorial
Middle Search Plus provides full text from over 140
general reference, health and science magazines.
p4A
Antiques Reference
Search Tips
The p4A Antiques Reference database is used by most
leading personal property appraisers throughout the United States,
antiques dealers, museums, and agencies like the Internal Revenue
Service to evaluate almost every kind of antique in today's collections.
Primary
Search
Tutorial
Primary Search provides full text from 50
children’s magazines appropriate for elementary schools and
children’s reading rooms.
Reference
USA
Tutorial
The ReferenceUSA database contains detailed
information on U.S. businesses, U.S. residents and U.S. health care
providers
Regional
Business News 
Regional Business News incorporates 75 business
journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural
areas within the United States.
Searchasaurus
Tutorial
Reference materials within Searchasaurus include
magazines, encyclopedias, newspapers, books and more.
U*X*L
American Decades
Tutorial
Navigation
Guide Search
Tips
Covers 20th-century events and social history
beginning in 1900 and ending in 1999. Each decade is covered,
with a chronology of world events and a general overview of the
decade. Within each topic, alphabetically arranged entries
discuss historically important events, issues, definitions of difficult
concepts or terms, and other interesting trivia and sideline stories.
Value
Line
The Value Line
Investment Survey is a comprehensive source of information and
advice on approximately 1,700 stocks in 97 industries, the stock
market, and the economy. The Ratings & Reports section
contains one-page reports about companies and industries. The
Summary & Index contains and index of all stocks in the
Investment Survey as well as many up-to-date statistics to keep
investors informed about the latest company results. The
Selection & Opinion section contains Value Line's latest
economic and stock market forecasts, one-page write ups about
interesting or attractive stocks, model portfolios, and financial
and stock market statistics.
Back To Top