Databases Listed Alphabetically
African
American Almanac
Tutorial
Navigation
Guide Search
Tips
The African American Almanac provides historical
and current information on African American history, society, and
culture. It includes a chronology, primary documents,
directories of organizations and businesses, a bibliography of
recently-published works, annotated lists of crucial court cases, a
filmography, and hundreds of brief biographies, photographs, maps, and
statistical charts.
American
Men and Women of Science
Tutorial
Navigation
Guide Search
Tips
This respected resource is a biographical
dictionary of the significant players in physical, biological, and
related sciences. Each edition includes biographical entries
on approximately 120,000 living scientists.
Ancestry.com
Library Edition
Overview
Tour
Search Guide
Sample Search
(This database is only available at the
library)
The Ancestry Library Edition collection has
approximately 4,000 databases including key collections such as U.S.
Federal Census images and indexes from 1790 to 1930; the Map Center
containing more than 1,000 historical maps, American Genealogical
Biographical Index (over 200 volumes); Daughters of the American
Revolution Lineage (over 150 volumes); The Great Migration Begins:
Immigrants to New England, 1620-1630; Social Security Death Index
(updated monthly); WWI Draft Registration Cards; Federal Slave
Narratives; and a strong Civil War Collection.
Ask
Us Now

Maryland AskUsNow! is a 24/7 live online
interactive service for the residents and students of the state of
Maryland. It uses the expertise of trained librarians to provide
answers to questions, research guidance, and help navigating the
Internet. The librarian should be able to take you to various websites
and will communicate with you using Internet chat. A normal session
lasts no longer than 15-20 minutes. The librarian may offer to
follow-up by e-mail if your question cannot be answered online in this
timeframe.
Atlas
of the Civil War
Tutorial
Navigation
Guide Search
Tips
This atlas describes the Civil War in five
chronological sections, each of which frames the war as both a military
conflict and a substantial social force that shaped the United States.
In addition to substantial coverage of the war’s multiple
military theaters, this atlas also devotes substantial attention to
nonmilitary elements of the struggle. Maps of population, economic
development, elections, transportation networks, and patterns of
enlistment accompany the text articles to better illuminate the
war’s social impact.
Auto
Repair Reference Center
Tutorial
Auto
Repair Reference Center contains information on most major
manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles, with repair
information for most vintage makes starting as far back as 1954.
Baltimore
Sun Archive 
The Baltimore Sun Archive
launched in September 1996, bringing the news from Maryland's most
trusted daily newspaper to a large and growing online
audience. Today, the site is updated 24 hours a day, seven
days a week with follow-ups and breaking news, as well as original
reporting, traffic, weather and sports. And our traffic has grown
accordingly. Currently, an average of nearly 1 million readers visit
this site every month -- many more when there is breaking news.
Biography
Resource Center
Tutorial
Navigation
Guide Search
Tips
Search for people based
on one or more personal fact such as birth and death year, nationality,
ethnicity, occupation or gender, or combine criteria to create a
highly-targeted custom search.
BookFlix
Click here to Access Outside the Library
Is Your
Computer Ready?
Introducing BookFlix, the new
interactive literacy resource that builds a love of reading and
learning - online! BookFlix pairs classic fictional video storybooks
from Weston Woods with nonfiction eBooks from Scholastic to
reinforce reading skills and develop essential real-world knowledge
and understanding.
Book
Index with Reviews
User
Guide
Book Index with Reviews is a comprehensive database
that provides information on over 3.8 million book titles in a wide
range of formats. Fiction and non-fiction titles are included
in the database, in all genres. The product contains over
800,000 full text searchable reviews from Library Journal, School
Library Journal, Publishers Weekly, CHOICE, and others.
Business
Source Elite
Tutorial
Business Source Elite provides full text from over
1,090 journals covering business, management, economics, banking,
finance, accounting and much more.
Career Information Center
Tutorial
Navigation
Guide Search
Tips
The Career Information Center provides information
every job seeker should have. Updated with a full volume devoted to
computer careers, the first 12 volumes each focus on a different career
area, and contain over 700 job profiles. Each profile includes a job
summary chart, a job description, and up-to-date salary information.
The 13th volume contains the index, as well as essays on different
aspects of employment.
Children's Favorite Authors and Illustrators
Tutorial
Navigation
Guide Search
Tips
From 19th-century poet Edward Lear to
contemporary stars such as Newbery Honor author Jack Gantos, this
series provides child-friendly essays about popular storytellers in
large type, and includes a list of selected works, quotes, abundant
photos, and sources for further reading. Hours of delighted browsing
and successful investigation await! The eight-volume set by Tradition
Press includes interesting short biographies on the storytellers most
familiar to today's young readers. In addition to photographs and book
cover images, profiles include interesting facts, quotes about and from
the subject, a selected bibliography of the person's work and
suggestions for further study, including both print and online
resources.
Cities of the World
Tutorial
Navigation
Guide Search
Tips
A compilation of current information on cultural,
geographic, and political conditions in 193 countries and their cities
covering six continents, based on the Department of State's Post
Reports. Maps and photos of many cities included.
Colonial America Reference Library
Tutorial
Navigation
Guide Search
Tips
The Colonial America Reference Library provides
students with the comprehensive information on the Colonial American
period they need to write reports and class assignments including
biographical profiles and primary source documents.
Credo Reference: Start
Your Research Here
Tour
Credo
Reference is a digital reference library that places a world of factual
information at your fingertips. Containing a selection from 240
high-quality reference books from the world's leading publishers, Credo
Reference is the ideal place to start any research. Offering
access to over 1.7 million individual entries, Credo Reference contains
all the types of reference books that you'd want to see in any quality
library: dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, and books of
quotations, not to mention a host of subject-specific titles covering
everything from the arts to accountancy and law to literature. And
because all our books are provided by the best reference publishers,
you know you can believe what you read.
EBSCO
Masterfile Premiere
Tutorial
MasterFILE Premier provides full text for more than
1,900 general reference, business, consumer health, general science,
and multi-cultural magazines.
EBSCO's
Encyclopedia of Animals
Tutorial
EBSCO's Encyclopedia of Animals has in-depth
information on a variety of topics relating to animals, describing the
nature and habitat of familiar animals.
Encyclopedia of the American Constitution
Tutorial
Navigation
Guide Search
Tips
This six-volume edition of the 1987 Dartmouth
Medal-winner includes all of the material from the original four-volume
set and 1992 Supplement, as well as updated original articles and new
articles covering concepts and court cases since 1992. Appendices
include a case index and primary documents.
Encyclopedia
of American Religions
Tutorial
Navigation
Guide Search
Tips
Encyclopedia of American Religions contains general
essays that historically trace the major religious families and
traditions, as well as directory listings that include contact and
descriptive information on individual churches, religious bodies, and
spiritual groups.
Encyclopedia of Career Development
Tutorial
Navigation
Guide Search
Tips
With over 300 articles, the Encyclopedia of Career
Development is the premier reference tool for research on
career-related topics. Covering a broad range of themes, the
contributions represent original material written by
internationally-renowned scholars that view career development from a
number of different dimensions. This multidisciplinary resource
examines career-related issues from psychological, sociological,
educational, counseling, organizational behavior, and human resource
management perspectives.
Encyclopedia
of Crime and Justice
Tutorial
Navigation
Guide Search
Tips
This uniquely interdisciplinary resource covers
legal, sociological, psychological, historical, and economic aspects of
crime and justice worldwide. Entries cover civil and criminal
issues, from domestic violence to terrorism, and cite pertinent legal
cases as well as publications for further information.
Encyclopedia
of Drugs, Alcohol, and Addictive Behavior
Tutorial Navigation
Guide Search
Tips
The Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol, and Addictive
Behavior specifically addresses the new frontiers that have opened in
the area of addictive studies, exploring not only the biological basis
for addiction, but also recent enhancements in diagnosis and treatment.
Encyclopedia
of Small Business
Tutorial
Navigation
Guide Search
Tips
Designed to provide entrepreneurs with how-to
information that they can apply to their own business. Contains 600
detailed articles and overviews of all the key information needs of
small business owners, including financing, financial planning,
business plan creation, market analysis, sales strategy, tax planning,
and human resource issues.
Encyclopedia
of World Cultures
Tutorial
Navigation
Guide Search
Tips
This reference set lists and describes more than
1,500 global cultures. Based on research of social
scientists, it is the source for historical, social, political,
economic, linguistic, religious, and other information on virtually
every existing culture.
F
Facts on File
Click here to Access Outside the Library
Overview
Contains
Facts On File World News Digest, Issues &
Controversies On File, Today's Science On File, The
World Almanac® Reference Database,
and The World Almanac Encyclopedia.
Fashion,
Costume, and Culture: Clothing, Headwear, Body Decorations, and
Footwear Through the Ages
Tutorial
Fashion, Costume and Culture provides a broad
overview of costume traditions of diverse cultures from prehistoric
times to the present day. It also explores how and why items
were created, the people who made them, and their uses, and shows how
clothing, headwear, body decorations and footwear reflect the different
cultural, religious, and societal beliefs.
Foundation Directory Online
Webinar
Foundation Directory Online Professional provides access to
an unprecedented wealth of timely, comprehensive information on
grantmakers and their grants. Included is a database of the entire
universe of over 92,000 foundations, corporate giving programs, and
grantmaking public charities in the U.S.; a database of nearly 3,700
sponsoring companies, offering a quick pathway to corporate funders;
a database of over 1.3 million recently awarded grants; and a
keyword-searchable database of over 441,000 recently filed IRS Forms
990 and 990-PF
Funk
and Wagnall's New Encyclopedia
Tutorial
For students and adults alike, the Funk &
Wagnall's New Encyclopedia database indexes over 25,000 records.
Gale
Encyclopedia of Everyday Law
Tutorial
Navigation
Guide Search
Tips
Fills a much-needed gap between legal texts
focusing on the theory and history behind the law and more practical
guides dealing with the law and its everyday effect upon its citizens.
Articles include brief descriptions of each issue's historical
background, profiles of various U.S. laws and regulations, details of
how laws and regulations vary from state to state, and comprehensive
bibliographies that include print and Web resources and lists of
relevant organizations.
Geo-Data:
The World Geographical Encyclopedia
Tutorial
Navigation
Guide Search
Tips
Entries describe the physical geography of every
nation and dependency on Earth. Physical features, climate, and
vegetation are discussed in detail using a consistent set of rubrics.
Every entry features a physical relief map designed to illuminate the
text of the entry. A World Rankings appendix includes dozens of tables
ranking major features of the Earth, such as largest river by length
and volume, tallest mountains by continent, and deepest oceans.
Includes a glossary of geographical and geological terms.
Grizmek's Animal Life Encyclopedia
Tutorial
Navigation
Guide Search
Tips
A completely revised and updated version of the
original work published in Germany in 1960, this edition incorporates
recent developments in the animal world as noted by prominent advisors
and contributors from the scientific community.
Health
Source: Consumer Edition
Tutorial
Health Source: Consumer Edition offers you an
alternative resource to find authoritative information on
health-related questions.
Heritage
Quest
Overview
Tour
Search Guide
Sample Search
HeritageQuest Online is designed specifically for
patrons in public libraries who are either just beginning their family
research or who after years of work are still uncovering their past.
Historical Atlas of the Islamic World
Tutorial
Navigation
Guide Search
Tips
Among the great civilizations of the world, Islam
remains an enigma to Western readers. Now, in a beautifully illustrated
historical atlas, noted scholar of religion Malise Ruthven recounts the
fascinating and important history of the Islamic world.
History
Reference Center
Tutorial
History Reference Center is
the world's most comprehensive full text history reference database,
featuring full text for more than 2,000 reference books, encyclopedias
and non-fiction books from leading history publishers and more than 120
leading history periodicals. The database contains more than
59,600 historical documents; more than 49,600 biographies of historical
figures; more than 110,200 historical photos and maps; and more than 80
hours of historical video.
Home Improvement Reference Center
Navigation
Guide
Home Improvement Reference Center is designed to
provide full text articles that show instructions, tips and suggestions
for a variety of home improvement projects. Thousands of
repairs are available in the areas of outdoor, electrical, remodeling,
plumbing, wood, decorating, and maintenance projects. Ideal
for the do-it-yourselfer!
Infotrac
Health and Wellness
Tutorial Navigation
Guide Search
Tips
Use this Resource Center
to find magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, and
information on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases,
Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse,
Prescription Drugs, Herbal remedies, and alternative or complementary
treatments, etc.
Learn-A-Test
from Learning Express Library
Tutorial
LearningExpress Library provides a completely
interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorial
course series designed to help you succeed on academic or licensing
tests, such as SAT, ASVAB, GED, Civil Service and much more!
You'll get immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and an
individualized analysis of your results. Sign in and start on your path
to success right now.
LegalForms
Tutorial Informational
Brochure
Thomson Gale LegalForms contains thousands of legal
forms available with more forms being added daily. Official,
State Specific, Federal, Business, Personal, Real Estate and General
Forms covering hundreds of legal subjects and issues are included.
Warning: Public users should consult an
attorney in your state for serious legal matters.
Literature
Resource Center
Tutorial
Navigation
Guide Search
Tips
Access biographies,
bibliographies, and critical analyses of more than 120,000 authors from
every age and literary discipline.
Litfinder
Search
Tips
Poem Finder is the largest, most comprehensive and
most current poetry database available. Story Finder provides
thousands of full-text short stories plus explanations, biographies,
pictures and more. Essay Finder is a unique database of
full-text essays and discursive writing based on books published in the
20th century which have been analyzed in standard library indexes.
M
Maryland Digital Cultural Heritage

The purpose of the Maryland Digital Cultural
Heritage Project is two-fold. First, the MDCH Project is a
collaborative effort to digitize Maryland-related historical documents,
images, audio, and video for Maryland's public libraries and cultural
heritage institutions. Second, the MDCH Project website
provides centralized, one-stop access to these culturally significant
items that will benefit the patrons and staff of the libraries and
cultural heritage institutions, as well as future generations, by
promoting research, education, and tourism.
Middle
Search Plus
Tutorial
Middle Search Plus provides full text from over 140
general reference, health and science magazines.
Newspaper
Source
Tutorial
Newspaper Source contains full text for 245
regional U.S. newspapers, eighteen international newspapers, six
newswires, nine newspaper columns and other sources.
Novelist
Navigation Guide
Search Tips
Training Center
In addition to locating books to read, users can
learn more about books and authors through Feature Articles, Book
Discussion Guides, and BookTalks.
Novelist
K-8
Navigation Guide
Search Tips Training
Center
NoveList K-8
allows you to discover the fiction titles that are popular with young
readers as well as titles to use in your classroom.
p4A
Antiques Reference
Search Tips
The p4A Antiques Reference database is used by most
leading personal property appraisers throughout the United States,
antiques dealers, museums, and agencies like the Internal Revenue
Service to evaluate almost every kind of antique in today's collections.
Primary
Search
Tutorial
Primary Search provides full text from 50
children’s magazines appropriate for elementary schools and
children’s reading rooms.
R
Reference
USA
Tutorial
The ReferenceUSA database contains detailed
information on U.S. businesses, U.S. residents and U.S. health care
providers.
Regional
Business News 
Regional Business News incorporates 75 business
journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural
areas within the United States.
Sanborn
Maps, 1867-1970
Navigation Guide Map Legend
Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 provides access to
more than 660,000 large-scale maps for more than 12,000 American towns
and cities. Sanborn fire insurance maps are the most
frequently consulted maps in libraries, and are valuable historical
tools. In electronic form, Sanborn maps allow users to easily
manipulate the maps, magnify and zoom in on specific sections, and
layer maps from different years.
Scholarships,
Fellowships and Loans
Tutorial
Navigation
Guide Search
Tips
Provides more than 4,200 sources of
education-related financial aid and awards at all levels of
study. Includes a section on federal financial aid that
features a quick summary of programs sponsored by the federal
government. Also includes a state-by-state listing of
agencies that users can contact in their home state.
Science
Resource Center
Tutorial Navigation
Guide Search
Tips
Researching science topics has
never been easier -- with Science Resource Center, thousands of topic
overviews, experiments, biographies, pictures and illustrations are
just a few clicks away and the latest scientific developments are
covered in articles from over 200 magazines and academic journals and
links to quality web sites. The database covers curriculum-related
science topics and offers teachers an easy-to-use tool to identify
content directly correlated to state and national standards.
Searchasaurus
Tutorial
Reference materials within Searchasaurus include
magazines, encyclopedias, newspapers, books and more.<