Databases Listed Alphabetically
African
American Almanac
Tutorial
Navigation
Guide Search
Tips
The African American Almanac provides historical
and current information on African American history, society, and
culture. It includes a chronology, primary documents,
directories of organizations and businesses, a bibliography of
recently-published works, annotated lists of crucial court cases, a
filmography, and hundreds of brief biographies, photographs, maps, and
statistical charts.
Africa: An Encyclopedia for Students
A general resource for African research for
students at the high-school level or higher. Consists of 450
alphabetically arranged entries covering countries, regions,
geographic features, cultural groups, personalities, and general
subjects such as body adornment and clothing, oral tradition, and
writing systems. Includes timelines, definitions and quick-reference
fact boxes.
Agricultural Collection
Guided Tour
A custom collection of nearly 300
titles focused on agriculture and its related fields: from practical
aspects of farming to cutting edge scientific research in
horticulture.
American Decades
American Decades is a
cross-disciplinary source for junior and high school students and
teachers, public librarians and general researchers who need a
single, consistent reference to document and analyze periods of
contemporary American social history.
American Decades Primary Sources
Cross-disciplinary source
spanning the 20th century. Each volume in the set includes full or
excerpted primary sources representing the seminal issues, themes,
movements and events from a decade. Includes oral histories, songs,
speeches, advertisements, TV, play and movie scripts, letters, laws,
legal decisions, newspaper articles, cartoons, recipes, and more.
American Eras
Includes essays on events,
publications, lifestyles and individuals important to particular
eras in U.S. history.
American
Men and Women of Science
Tutorial
Navigation
Guide Search
Tips
This respected resource is a biographical
dictionary of the significant players in physical, biological, and
related sciences. Each edition includes biographical entries
on approximately 120,000 living scientists.
Ancestry.com
Library Edition
Overview
Tour
Search Guide
Sample Search
(This database is only available at the
library)
The Ancestry Library Edition collection has
approximately 4,000 databases including key collections such as U.S.
Federal Census images and indexes from 1790 to 1930; the Map Center
containing more than 1,000 historical maps, American Genealogical
Biographical Index (over 200 volumes); Daughters of the American
Revolution Lineage (over 150 volumes); The Great Migration Begins:
Immigrants to New England, 1620-1630; Social Security Death Index
(updated monthly); WWI Draft Registration Cards; Federal Slave
Narratives; and a strong Civil War Collection.
Ancient Civilizations Reference Library
The ancient civilizations of Iraq, Egypt,
India, China, Central America and other regions are the focus of
this remarkable contribution to student reference.
Ask
Us Now

Maryland AskUsNow! is a 24/7 live online
interactive service for the residents and students of the state of
Maryland. It uses the expertise of trained librarians to provide
answers to questions, research guidance, and help navigating the
Internet. The librarian should be able to take you to various websites
and will communicate with you using Internet chat. A normal session
lasts no longer than 15-20 minutes. The librarian may offer to
follow-up by e-mail if your question cannot be answered online in this
timeframe.
Atlas
of the Civil War
Tutorial
Navigation
Guide Search
Tips
This atlas describes the Civil War in five
chronological sections, each of which frames the war as both a military
conflict and a substantial social force that shaped the United States.
In addition to substantial coverage of the war’s multiple
military theaters, this atlas also devotes substantial attention to
nonmilitary elements of the struggle. Maps of population, economic
development, elections, transportation networks, and patterns of
enlistment accompany the text articles to better illuminate the
war’s social impact.
Auto
Repair Reference Center
Tutorial
Auto
Repair Reference Center contains information on most major
manufacturers of domestic and imported vehicles, with repair
information for most vintage makes starting as far back as 1954.
Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Popular Musicians Since 1990
An
A-Z biographical reference that focuses on individual artists
and groups in all popular styles active from 1990 to the
present, including those in rock, rhythm and blues, rap,
country, electronica, jazz, vocal and classical. Features
include select discographies, bibliographies, a glossary of
musical terms, and other information. Also features appendix
essays on various topics including the music industry, rap, and
grunge.
Biography
Resource Center
Tutorial
Navigation
Guide Search
Tips
Search for people based
on one or more personal fact such as birth and death year, nationality,
ethnicity, occupation or gender, or combine criteria to create a
highly-targeted custom search.
BookFlix
Click here to Access Outside the Library
Is Your
Computer Ready?
Introducing BookFlix, the new
interactive literacy resource that builds a love of reading and
learning - online! BookFlix pairs classic fictional video storybooks
from Weston Woods with nonfiction eBooks from Scholastic to
reinforce reading skills and develop essential real-world knowledge
and understanding.
Books & Authors
Books &
Authors
offers new ways to explore the endless possibilities and
combinations of books, authors, genres and topics. Combining over
140,000 titles, 50,000 authors, and thousands of read-alike, award
winner and librarian's favorites lists, Books & Authors helps
bring readers and literature together. Through the use of expertly
written and arranged content and a dynamic, cutting edge user
interface, Books & Authors makes exploration of genre fiction
and essential non-fiction fun! By leveraging our entire
award-winning What Do I Read Next? collection, patrons and
students alike can be sure that their next big read comes with a BIG
recommendation.
Business Economics
Guided Tour
This collection of 200 full-text periodicals from
EconLit covers topics such as economic development, forecasting, and
history; fiscal theory; monetary theory and financial institutions;
business finance; public finance; country studies; and government
regulations.
Career Information Center
Tutorial
Navigation
Guide Search
Tips
The Career Information Center provides information
every job seeker should have. Updated with a full volume devoted to
computer careers, the first 12 volumes each focus on a different career
area, and contain over 700 job profiles. Each profile includes a job
summary chart, a job description, and up-to-date salary information.
The 13th volume contains the index, as well as essays on different
aspects of employment.
Chemical Elements: From Carbon to Krypton
In-depth, current and accurate information
on 112 known chemical elements. For younger and middle school
students, yet appropriate for high school students, too.
Children's Favorite Authors and Illustrators
Tutorial
Navigation
Guide Search
Tips
From 19th-century poet Edward Lear to
contemporary stars such as Newbery Honor author Jack Gantos, this
series provides child-friendly essays about popular storytellers in
large type, and includes a list of selected works, quotes, abundant
photos, and sources for further reading. Hours of delighted browsing
and successful investigation await! The eight-volume set by Tradition
Press includes interesting short biographies on the storytellers most
familiar to today's young readers. In addition to photographs and book
cover images, profiles include interesting facts, quotes about and from
the subject, a selected bibliography of the person's work and
suggestions for further study, including both print and online
resources.
Cities of the World
Tutorial
Navigation
Guide Search
Tips
A compilation of current information on cultural,
geographic, and political conditions in 193 countries and their cities
covering six continents, based on the Department of State's Post
Reports. Maps and photos of many cities included.
College Blue Book
Guide to thousands of
2- and 4-year schools in the U.S. and Canada. Covers the expected
listings and detailed descriptions, degree programs offered,
scholarships, and occupational education programs.
Colonial America Reference Library
Tutorial
Navigation
Guide Search
Tips
The Colonial America Reference Library provides
students with the comprehensive information on the Colonial American
period they need to write reports and class assignments including
biographical profiles and primary source documents.
Consumer Reports
ConsumerReports.org provides ratings and reviews, recommendations
and buying advice across several franchises. Each product includes
an overview and a ratings report card, as well as tester reviews &
recommendations.
Countries and Their Cultures
Presents the cultural similarities
within a country that set it apart from others by examining over 200
countries to document the myriad ways in which culture defines and
separates the nations of the world as much as geographical borders
do. Surveys each country's shared values, behaviors and cultural
variations from foods and rituals to pastimes and arts, using a
standard entry format for easy comparison. Provides illustrations,
photographs and maps. 4 volumes.
Credo Reference: Start
Your Research Here
Tour
Credo
Reference is a digital reference library that places a world of factual
information at your fingertips. Containing a selection from 240
high-quality reference books from the world's leading publishers, Credo
Reference is the ideal place to start any research. Offering
access to over 1.7 million individual entries, Credo Reference contains
all the types of reference books that you'd want to see in any quality
library: dictionaries, encyclopedias, thesauri, and books of
quotations, not to mention a host of subject-specific titles covering
everything from the arts to accountancy and law to literature. And
because all our books are provided by the best reference publishers,
you know you can believe what you read.
Criminal Justice Collection
Guided Tour
Whether studying to become a lawyer or law
enforcement officer, paralegal, or for a career in Homeland
Security, this collection rises to the challenge. Users will have
access to 150 journals.
Culinary Arts Collection
Guided Tour
The Culinary Arts collection includes 150 of the
major cooking and nutrition magazines. Coverage includes thousands
of searchable recipes, restaurant reviews, and industry information.
Custom Newspapers
Coverage
includes more than 150 cover-to-cover titles, including U.S.
national, regional and local newspapers, as well as the leading
titles from around the world.
Discovering Collection
Discovering
Collection offers easy access to award-winning content based on
national curriculum standards. Covering the core curriculum areas,
including history, literature, science, social studies, and more, DC
provides a premium selection of reference, primary sources, creative
works, and multimedia, including hours of video and audio clips. New
to the database are popular topic picklists and an integrated
national and state curriculum standards search with content
correlated to the standards.
Diversity Studies Collection
Guided Tour
A must-have for social science, history and liberal
arts coursework, this collection explores cultural differences,
contributions and influences in our global community. This set
includes 150 journals.
Early Civilizations in the Americas Reference Library
This
reference library provides a comprehensive overview of the
history of the regions of the American continents in which two
of the world's first civilizations developed: Mesoamerica (the
name for the lands in which ancient civilizations arose in
Central America and Mexico) and the Andes Mountains region of
South America (in present-day Peru and parts of Bolivia,
northern Argentina, and Ecuador).
Educator's Reference Complete
Educator's Reference Complete
is a selection of more than 450 full-text academic journals,
hundreds of full-text reports, and many premier reference
sources. Included content focuses on educational principles,
child development and psychology, and best practices in
education. Majority of the full-text titles included are also
found in the ERIC database. The database is updated daily and
provides 24-hour access from school or home.
Encyclopedia of the American Constitution
Tutorial
Navigation
Guide Search
Tips
This six-volume edition of the 1987 Dartmouth
Medal-winner includes all of the material from the original four-volume
set and 1992 Supplement, as well as updated original articles and new
articles covering concepts and court cases since 1992. Appendices
include a case index and primary documents.
Encyclopedia
of American Religions
Tutorial
Navigation
Guide Search
Tips
Encyclopedia of American Religions contains general
essays that historically trace the major religious families and
traditions, as well as directory listings that include contact and
descriptive information on individual churches, religious bodies, and
spiritual groups.
Encyclopedia of Career Development
Tutorial
Navigation
Guide Search
Tips
With over 300 articles, the Encyclopedia of Career
Development is the premier reference tool for research on
career-related topics. Covering a broad range of themes, the
contributions represent original material written by
internationally-renowned scholars that view career development from a
number of different dimensions. This multidisciplinary resource
examines career-related issues from psychological, sociological,
educational, counseling, organizational behavior, and human resource
management perspectives.
Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion
A three-volume survey of clothing, costume
and fashion, presented through 640 essays, arranged alphabetically.
Coverage includes the origins of clothing and body adornment, the
development of fabrics and technologies, and the social meanings of
dress, as well as representative costumes from a wide range of
historical eras. For students and researchers at the high-school
level or higher.
Encyclopedia
of Crime and Justice
Tutorial
Navigation
Guide Search
Tips
This uniquely interdisciplinary resource covers
legal, sociological, psychological, historical, and economic aspects of
crime and justice worldwide. Entries cover civil and criminal
issues, from domestic violence to terrorism, and cite pertinent legal
cases as well as publications for further information.
Encyclopedia
of Drugs, Alcohol, and Addictive Behavior
Tutorial Navigation
Guide Search
Tips
The Encyclopedia of Drugs, Alcohol, and Addictive
Behavior specifically addresses the new frontiers that have opened in
the area of addictive studies, exploring not only the biological basis
for addiction, but also recent enhancements in diagnosis and treatment.
Encyclopedia of Food and Culture
A
three-volume survey of food and its place in human culture and
society, presented through 600 alphabetically sorted entries.
Features multidisciplinary coverage of such topics as comfort
food, ethnicity and food, medieval banquets, and nutrient
composition, among many others. Includes photographs,
illustrations, sidebars, recipes, menus, and timelines. For
students and general readers.
Encyclopedia of Islam and the Muslim World
This encyclopedia looks at
Islam's role in the modern world, doing so in the context of the
religion's history and development over the last 13 centuries.
Encyclopedia of Religion
The
second edition of a resource that is considered a standard
reference in the field. Presents a cross-cultural approach that
emphasizes religion's role within everyday life and as a unique
experience from culture to culture. The original 2,750 entries
have been retained, many heavily updated, and approximately 600
entirely new articles have been added by an international team
of scholars and contributors.
Encyclopedia
of Small Business
Tutorial
Navigation
Guide Search
Tips
Designed to provide entrepreneurs with how-to
information that they can apply to their own business. Contains 600
detailed articles and overviews of all the key information needs of
small business owners, including financing, financial planning,
business plan creation, market analysis, sales strategy, tax planning,
and human resource issues.
Encyclopedia of World Cultures
Tutorial
Navigation
Guide Search
Tips
This reference set lists and describes more than
1,500 global cultures. Based on research of social
scientists, it is the source for historical, social, political,
economic, linguistic, religious, and other information on virtually
every existing culture.
Encyclopedia of World Cultures: Supplement
This reference set lists and describes more
than 1,500 global cultures. Based on research of social scientists,
it is the source for historical, social, political, economic,
linguistic, religious, and other information on virtually every
existing culture. Its cross-cultural perspective meets high school
curricular requirements for world studies and social sciences.
Endangered Species
Including the addition of 25 new species,
this new 2nd edition is completely updated to reflect the changes in
endangered and threatened status. Color photographs and maps provide
further illustrate the many species threatened by extinction,
including amphibians, birds, crustaceans, fish, insects, mammals,
mollusks, reptiles, and more. Each entry gives a species
description, location, reason for endangerment, and measures being
taken to prevent it from extinction.
Environmental Studies and Policy
Guided Tour
A custom collection of nearly 200 journals providing
robust coverage of environmental issues and policies, including
diverse perspectives from the scientific community, governmental
policy makers, as well as corporate interests
Expanded
Academic ASAP
From arts and the humanities to social sciences, science and
technology, this database meets research needs across all academic
disciplines. Access scholarly journals, news magazines, and
newspapers - many with full text and images!
F
Fashion,
Costume, and Culture: Clothing, Headwear, Body Decorations, and
Footwear Through the Ages
Tutorial
Fashion, Costume and Culture provides a broad
overview of costume traditions of diverse cultures from prehistoric
times to the present day. It also explores how and why items
were created, the people who made them, and their uses, and shows how
clothing, headwear, body decorations and footwear reflect the different
cultural, religious, and societal beliefs.
Fine Arts
and Music
This collection of 200 full-text periodicals from RILM covers
different types of art and expression. It provides broad coverage of
the arts from music and music theory to drama and the performing
arts. It also provides content in the visual arts and art history.
Foundation Directory Online
Webinar
Please see librarian for access to this
database
Foundation Directory Online Professional provides access to
an unprecedented wealth of timely, comprehensive information on
grantmakers and their grants. Included is a database of the entire
universe of over 92,000 foundations, corporate giving programs, and
grantmaking public charities in the U.S.; a database of nearly 3,700
sponsoring companies, offering a quick pathway to corporate funders;
a database of over 1.3 million recently awarded grants; and a
keyword-searchable database of over 441,000 recently filed IRS Forms
990 and 990-PF.
Gale
Encyclopedia of Everyday Law
Tutorial
Navigation
Guide Search
Tips
Fills a much-needed gap between legal texts
focusing on the theory and history behind the law and more practical
guides dealing with the law and its everyday effect upon its citizens.
Articles include brief descriptions of each issue's historical
background, profiles of various U.S. laws and regulations, details of
how laws and regulations vary from state to state, and comprehensive
bibliographies that include print and Web resources and lists of
relevant organizations.
Gale Virtual Reference Library
Gale Virtual
Reference Library is a database of encyclopedias and specialized
reference sources for multidisciplinary research. These reference
materials once were accessible only in the library, but now you can
access them online from the library or remotely 24/7. Because each
library creates its own eBook collection, the content you see may
vary if you use the database at different libraries (your school,
your public library, or your office).
Gardening, Landscape and Horticulture Collection
Farmers, landscape architects, and
biotechnologists alike will have their information appetites sated
with this collection of nearly 50 journals focused specifically on
key issues in gardening, landscaping, and other areas of
horticulture. A fertile and growing collection, this collection
includes content relating to both the practical aspects as well as
the scientific theory of horticulture studies.
Geo-Data:
The World Geographical Encyclopedia
Tutorial
Navigation
Guide Search
Tips
Entries describe the physical geography of every
nation and dependency on Earth. Physical features, climate, and
vegetation are discussed in detail using a consistent set of rubrics.
Every entry features a physical relief map designed to illuminate the
text of the entry. A World Rankings appendix includes dozens of tables
ranking major features of the Earth, such as largest river by length
and volume, tallest mountains by continent, and deepest oceans.
Includes a glossary of geographical and geological terms.
General OneFile
A one-stop
source for news and periodical articles on a wide range of topics:
business, computers, current events, economics, education,
environmental issues, health care, hobbies, humanities, law,
literature and art, politics, science, social science, sports,
technology, and many general interest topics. Millions of full-text
articles, many with images. Updated daily.
General Reference Center Gold
A general
interest database that integrates a variety of sources - newspapers,
reference books, magazines, and trade publications. Find articles on
current events, popular culture, business and industry trends, the
arts and sciences, sports, hobbies, and more.
General Science Collection
A custom collection of over 200 journals, providing
researchers with the information needed to stay current on the
latest scientific developments -- including such topics as particle
physics, advanced mathematics, and nanotechnology.
Grizmek's Animal Life Encyclopedia
Tutorial
Navigation
Guide Search
Tips
A completely revised and updated version of the
original work published in Germany in 1960, this edition incorporates
recent developments in the animal world as noted by prominent advisors
and contributors from the scientific community.
Health and Wellness Resource Center and Alternative Health
Module
Guided
Tour
Provides instant access to carefully compiled and
trusted medical reference materials. Includes nearly 400
health/medical journals, hundreds of pamphlets, over 700
health-related videos from partner Healthology, Inc., and
articles from 2,200 general interest publications in addition to
a broad collection of Gale reference titles. Material contained
in this Resource Center is intended for informational purposes
only.
Heritage
Quest
Overview
Tour
Search Guide
Sample Search
HeritageQuest Online is designed specifically for
patrons in public libraries who are either just beginning their family
research or who after years of work are still uncovering their past.
Historical Atlas of the Islamic World
Tutorial
Navigation
Guide Search
Tips
Among the great civilizations of the world, Islam
remains an enigma to Western readers. Now, in a beautifully illustrated
historical atlas, noted scholar of religion Malise Ruthven recounts the
fascinating and important history of the Islamic world.
History Resource Center: US
History
Resource Center: U.S. provides integrated access to over 4,000
historical (primary) documents, articles from more than 30 reference
titles, and over 110 full-text journal covering themes, events,
individuals and periods in U.S. history from pre-Colonial times to
the present. The material also includes citations from over 180
additional history journals from the Institute for Scientific
Information's Arts and Humanities Citation Index, as well as the
entire "American Journey Online" series.
History Resource Center: World
History
Resource Center: World is a comprehensive collection of
award-winning reference, full-text articles from leading scholarly
publications, an array of primary sources, and images, maps and
charts which provide expansive geographic and chronological research
materials for the study of world history. From ancient Europe to
Latin America and from the Far East to the Renaissance, world
history curricula is supported with over 1,800 primary sources, over
27 reference titles and more than 110 journals.
Home Improvement Collection
Even the
smallest home improvement project can be daunting: with this
collection of nearly 100 home improvement focused titles, hobbyists
and professional carpenters alike will immediately put their
projects on a more solid foundation. Coverage includes such topics
as architectural techniques, tool and material selection, zoning
requirements, and many more.
Home Improvement Reference Center
Navigation
Guide
Home Improvement Reference Center is designed to
provide full text articles that show instructions, tips and suggestions
for a variety of home improvement projects. Thousands of
repairs are available in the areas of outdoor, electrical, remodeling,
plumbing, wood, decorating, and maintenance projects. Ideal
for the do-it-yourselfer!
Hospitality, Tourism and Leisure Collection
With current
and relevant content from over 500 industry journals, this
collection provides well-rounded coverage of both the historical and
current state of affairs in the hospitality and tourism field, while
also allowing for focused study of specialized aspects of the
industry - including cultural aspects of travel, leisure activities,
economic aspects of tourism, and more.
Information Science & Technology eCollection
Comprised of content from nearly 100 leading
industry journals, this collection provides current and accurate
information for the information professional. Coverage includes
such topics as data processing techniques, metadata
architectures, and more.
Infotrac
Health and Wellness
Tutorial Navigation
Guide Search
Tips
Use this Resource Center
to find magazines, journals, newspapers, definitions, directories, and
information on: Fitness, Pregnancy, Medicine, Nutrition, Diseases,
Public Health, Occupational Health and Safety, Alcohol and Drug abuse,
Prescription Drugs, Herbal remedies, and alternative or complementary
treatments, etc.
Insurance and Liability Collection
This
collection, comprised of nearly 40 journals, takes a broad view of
the insurance and liability industry, covering such topics as labor
relations, mortgage banking, legal issues, and more.
Kids InfoBits
Webcast
Kids InfoBits
is a database developed especially for beginning researchers in
Kindergarten through Grade 5. Featuring a developmentally
appropriate, visually graphic interface, the most popular search
method is moving from a broad subject to a narrower topic using the
subject-based topic tree. The curriculum-related, age appropriate,
full-text content is from the best elementary reference sources and
magazines. This database covers geography, current events, the arts,
science, health, people, government, history, sports and more.
Learn-A-Test
from Learning Express Library
Tutorial
LearningExpress Library provides a completely
interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorial
course series designed to help you succeed on academic or licensing
tests, such as SAT, ASVAB, GED, Civil Service and much more!
You'll get immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and an
individualized analysis of your results. Sign in and start on your path
to success right now.
LegalForms
Tutorial Informational
Brochure
Thomson Gale LegalForms contains thousands of legal
forms available with more forms being added daily. Official,
State Specific, Federal, Business, Personal, Real Estate and General
Forms covering hundreds of legal subjects and issues are included.
Warning: Public users should consult an
attorney in your state for serious legal matters.
Literature
Resource Center
Basic Search – Guided Tour
Navigation
Guide Search
Tips
Access biographies,
bibliographies, and critical analyses of more than 120,000 authors from
every age and literary discipline.
M
Mango Languages
Mango Languages is an online
language-learning system teaching actual conversation skills for a
wide variety of languages. Includes Brazilian Portuguese, Japanese,
German, Greek, Mandarin Chinese, Spanish, French, Italian, Russian,
ESL Spanish (English for Spanish Speakers), ESL Polish (English for
Polish Speakers), and ESL Brazilian Portuguese (English for
Brazilian Portuguese Speakers).
Maryland Digital Cultural Heritage

The purpose of the Maryland Digital Cultural
Heritage Project is two-fold. First, the MDCH Project is a
collaborative effort to digitize Maryland-related historical documents,
images, audio, and video for Maryland's public libraries and cultural
heritage institutions. Second, the MDCH Project website
provides centralized, one-stop access to these culturally significant
items that will benefit the patrons and staff of the libraries and
cultural heritage institutions, as well as future generations, by
promoting research, education, and tourism.
Maryland’s Digital
eLibrary Consortium
Browse hundreds
of downloadable audiobooks and eBooks! Check out and download
best-selling titles to your PC, then transfer to a portable device
or burn many titles to CD to enjoy anytime, anywhere.
Middle Ages Reference Library
How did
the Sunni Shiite split in medieval times bring about modern tensions
between Iran and Iraq? Middle Ages Reference Library helps students
answer this question and many other enigmas by encouraging them to
see how events and ideas are linked.
Middle East Conflict Reference Library
Designed
to meet the pressing need for a lucid, comprehensive and objective
overview of the people, events and documents that are key to
understanding the region.
Military and Intelligence Database
A custom
collection of over 400 journals, covering all aspects of the past
and current state of military affairs. Key subjects include
socioeconomic effects of war, governmental policies, the structure
of armed forces, and many more.
Novelist
NoveList is a fiction database that provides subject heading
access, reviews, annotations, and much more for over 120,000
fiction titles. It also includes other content of interest to
fiction readers, such as Author Read-alikes, Book Discussion
Guides, BookTalks, and Feature Articles. For school media
specialists and teachers there are Standards-Based Thematic
Units and Picture Book Extenders, as well as specific teaching
guides for using fiction in the classroom.
Novelist K-8
NoveList K-8 Plus contains materials for all K-8 grade levels
and includes picture books, children's "chapter" books and young
adult titles. Updated monthly, NoveList K-8 is your starting
place for learning about the books that you and your students
need and will want to read!
Nursing and Allied Health
Including nearly 900 CINAHL
journals in fulltext, this collections current and authoritative
content will be of use to both nursing professionals already
working in the field as well as students pursuing a
nursing-focused curriculum.
Opposing Viewpoints Resource Center
Opposing Viewpoints Resource
Center is a one-stop source for information on today's hottest
social issues. Drawing on acclaimed series published by
Greenhaven Press and other Gale imprints, OVRC features
viewpoint articles, topic overviews, full-text magazine,
academic journal, and newspaper articles, primary source
documents, statistics, images and podcasts, and links to
Websites. New to the database are Lexile reading levels for
periodicals and an integrated national and state curriculum
standards search with content correlated to the standards.
p4A
Antiques Reference
Search Tips
The p4A Antiques Reference database is used by most
leading personal property appraisers throughout the United States,
antiques dealers, museums, and agencies like the Internal Revenue
Service to evaluate almost every kind of antique in today's collections.
Pop Culture Online
This collection provides useful
information for any researcher in a social science, history, art or
liberal arts course.
Psychology Collection
This collection gives individuals a
basic understanding of the study of the mind, emotions and how the
human mind develops over time.
R
Reference
USA
Tutorial
The Reference USA database contains detailed
information on U.S. businesses, U.S. residents and U.S. health care
providers.
Religion & Philosophy Collection
This custom collection provides coverage of different
religions, philosophies and how they impact our daily lives. Two
hundred and fifty subject-appropriate full-text periodicals are
included.
Renaissance and Reformation Reference Library
This
resource brings the people and the events of the Renaissance and
Reformation to life for today's students. Covering everything from
Luther's Revolt to the writings of Shakespeare, the Renaissance and
Reformation Reference Library fills the need for comprehensive
coverage of this amazing time.
Sanborn
Maps, 1867-1970
Navigation Guide Map Legend
Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867-1970 provides access to
more than 660,000 large-scale maps for more than 12,000 American towns
and cities. Sanborn fire insurance maps are the most
frequently consulted maps in libraries, and are valuable historical
tools. In electronic form, Sanborn maps allow users to easily
manipulate the maps, magnify and zoom in on specific sections, and
layer maps from different years.
Scholarships,
Fellowships and Loans
Tutorial
Navigation
Guide Search
Tips
Provides more than 4,200 sources of
education-related financial aid and awards at all levels of
study. Includes a section on federal financial aid that
features a quick summary of programs sponsored by the federal
government. Also includes a state-by-state listing of
agencies that users can contact in their home state.
Science
Resource Center
Tutorial Navigation
Guide Search
Tips
Researching science topics has
never been easier -- with Science Resource Center, thousands of topic
overviews, experiments, biographies, pictures and illustrations are
just a few clicks away and the latest scientific developments are
covered in articles from over 200 magazines and academic journals and
links to quality web sites. The database covers curriculum-related
science topics and offers teachers an easy-to-use tool to identify
content directly correlated to state and national standards.
Small Business Resource Center
Search this
database to learn how to start, finance or manage your small
business. Resources include sample business plans, how to guides,
articles and websites.
Student Resource Center - Bronze
Student Resource Center -
Bronze offers easy access to award-winning content based on national
curriculum standards. Covering all core curriculum areas, including
history, literature, science, social studies, and more, SRC - Bronze
provides a premium selection of reference material, more than 680
full-text periodicals and newspapers, primary sources, creative
works, and multimedia, including hours of video and audio clips. New
to the database are Lexile reading levels for periodicals, an
integrated national and state curriculum standards search with
content correlated to the standards, and popular topic picklists.
T-V
Testing
and Education Reference Center
Tutorial
Navigation
Guide Search
Tips
Testing & Education
Reference Center (TERC)
can help students find their perfect school match using a variety of
search criteria, including institution name, location, tuition, major,
average G.P.A. of incoming freshmen, religious affiliation and more. College
Search - Search for colleges, distance (online) learning
opportunities, programs for international students and nursing schools Graduate
Search - Search thousands of graduate, law, MBA, nursing and
distance learning (online) opportunities Specialty &
Career Program - Search career schools, vocational schools,
IT programs, Executive Education programs and private secondary schools
Test Preparation - Practice for
college/graduate school admissions; exams to help you earn college
credit; civil service/licensing; military entrance exams; and the high
school equivalency exam.
Tutor.com
Frequently Asked Questions
Tutor.com Live Homework Help is available seven
days a week from 2 p.m. through 12:00 a.m. Eastern time. Students in
4th-12th grades as well as college freshmen can use the service as
often as they wish and receive help in math, science, social studies
and English.
US History
This collection of journals provides balanced
coverage of both current thought and events in U.S. History, as well
as scholarly work being established in the field; useful both to the
novice historian and to the advanced academic researcher.
U*X*L
American Decades
Tutorial
Navigation
Guide Search
Tips
Covers 20th-century events and social history
beginning in 1900 and ending in 1999. Each decade is covered,
with a chronology of world events and a general overview of the
decade. Within each topic, alphabetically arranged entries
discuss historically important events, issues, definitions of difficult
concepts or terms, and other interesting trivia and sideline stories.
U*X*L Encyclopedia of Biomes
This set
offers students and researchers comprehensive and easy-to-use
information on 12 of the Earth's major biomes and its many component
ecosystems. Alphabetically arranged entries on land and water biomes
range from 35 to 45 pages each and cover climate, vegetation, animal
life, food web, plant and animal adaptations, endangered species,
human effects on the biome, and more.
U*X*L Encyclopedia of Drugs and Addictive Substances
Provides
detailed information on 52 drugs and other addictive substances,
defined as illegal drugs, legal addictive drugs and other substances
as well as commonly abused classes of prescription and
over-the-counter drugs. Statistics highlight each entry and sidebars
provide information on the legal, historical or social aspects of
the particular drug. Difficult words are defined within the text.
Appropriate for middle school students.
Value
Line
Not at the library?
Click
Here.
The Value Line
Investment Survey is a comprehensive source of information and
advice on approximately 1,700 stocks in 97 industries, the stock
market, and the economy. The Ratings & Reports section
contains one-page reports about companies and industries. The
Summary & Index contains and index of all stocks in the
Investment Survey as well as many up-to-date statistics to keep
investors informed about the latest company results. The
Selection & Opinion section contains Value Line's latest
economic and stock market forecasts, one-page write ups about
interesting or attractive stocks, model portfolios, and financial
and stock market statistics.
War and Terrorism Collection
A definitive collection for students of history,
social science and current events, providing insight into
conflicts and their multiple causes.
Whilbr

Allegany, Garrett, and Washington Counties in
Western Maryland have a rich and diverse history. View images
from the collections of the libraries, historical societies, and
individuals in the three counties. There are photographs,
newspaper articles, and indexes, rare books and more.
Witchcraft
in America
Tutorial
Navigation
Guide Search
Tips
This fascinating and informative source covers the
history of witchcraft in the United States from the hysteria that
facilitated the witch hunts during the Colonial Period to modern day
followers of Wicca. Chapters include full text or excerpts
from trial transcripts, diary entries, public notices, and many other
primary sources. Biographical essays highlight prominent
figures related to the Salem witch trials.
World
Book Online Reference Center
Tutorial Quick
Start Guide
Continually updated, World Book Online Reference
Center is a student's best source for accurate and accessible
information. This comprehensive site includes all of the articles from
the 22-volume print set, plus thousands more. In addition, there are
more than 9,500 pictures and maps, 115 videos and animations, 9,300
sounds, more than 100 simulated historic Web sites.